Seeing Red

Did you know the color of your gym clothes can affect the intensity of your workout?  Yeah, neither did I.  But according to the good folks over at msn.com, wearing red can lead to a longer and more efficient workout.  (Not to mention red is a HOT color)  rose_redThe reason?  They claim when the eye focuses on the color, it creates a chain reaction that stimulates the part of the brain that regulates body temperature, appetite and energy levels.  That, apparently, can lead to a longer and more efficient exercise session.   I don’t know about you, but I’m not running out to buy a new scarlet-hued workout wardrobe anytime soon.  And yet…I might be inclined to pick up a red shirt if it happens to be hanging from the sales rack.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Seeing Red”

  1. Fari Says:

    Wow. I’ve never thought of that. Now I know why my workouts seem so drab – it’s cuz we’re all wearing freaking grey!!! See my gym is in my job and they provide everything for us including the clothes which happen to be grey tshirts & black shorts. Yes, it can see a bit cult like if you pass by & see all of us wearing the same outfit (thank god we’re in a basement)! So essentially all we have to bring is a pair of sneakers & a good attitude. There are those ofcourse who spice it up w/ their own workout gear but they are not the majority. So I’ll be suggesting some new workout tshirts – in RED! Thx!

  2. Walter T Says:

    Hey, i always wear blue… what does that mean???

Leave a Reply

