The Perfect Pedal

Just last weekend, I brought my tri bike into the shop.  It’s the second time I’ve done so in a month.  It’s not that there’s anything wrong with the bike (although I did need a new tube in the rear tire), but it’s because I’m always needing to switch out my bike pedals.

See, I’ve got two sets…one pair of platform pedals (the normal kind) and one pair of clipless pedals (the racing kind).

If you’ve ever tried to ride with clipless pedals you know failing to unclip and falling over into the street is a very real possibility.  I live in NYC.  It’s not a risk I’m willing to take, so for most of the year, I ride with platform pedals.  When race training heats up, I switch to the clipless kind.

Click on me to buy at Amazon.com

Perfection!

Switching pedals is something I have tried to do at home, but they screw those suckers on so tight, it makes more sense to pay the 5 bucks and have the very strong mechanics at the shop take care of it for me.

But not anymore.  That’s because I’ve found the perfect pedal.

It’s made by Shimano and as you can see from the picture…one side is a platform pedal, the other side allows you to clip in.  You’re familiar with these pedals if you use the spinning bikes at the gym…they’re exactly the same.

No more switching pedals.  And even better…I can ride my bike with my regular sneakers to the track and then switch to my road shoes once I get there without the risk of falling over into traffic on the way there.  And if you know me, you know that’s already something I’ve done.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

