Snack Wars: Breakfast Battle

I love waffles.  Not so much pancakes.  But when I tell people of my preference, there’s always the inevitable follow-up question, “What do you mean you don’t like pancakes!?”  This is often paired with a look of disdain.  It’s the same look I get when I admit I don’t like cheesecake either.  And I’m sure you can guess what question always follows that admission.  I had this in mind when thinking about this week’s Snack Wars.  I want evidence that my waffle preference is actually the healthier alternative.  So here it is…the pancake/waffle showdown.

In the morning...I'm making waffles!

Round One: Calories

For this battle, we head to the breakfast mecca that is Ihop.  One of their Belgian waffles (no butter, no syrup) packs 390 calories.  One pancake is 110 calories, but no one ever eats one.  A stack of three will set you back 330 calories…add a pat of butter and 2 tablespoons of syrup and you’re talking 444 calories.  Granted if add those extras to the waffle you’re talking about a 504 calorie breakfast…a quarter of the daily recommended caloric intake.

Round Two: Fat

This round goes to pancakes again.  Three buttermilk pancakes have 9 grams of fat (again without butter and syrup).  That waffle I prefer packs a whopping 19 grams of fat.

Round Three: Carbs

Granted, if you’re watching your carbs you’re likely going to order steak and eggs instead of pancakes or waffles, but if you’re looking for the lower carb treat…get the waffles.  One Belgian waffle has 2 less carb grams than the three pancakes.

The Winner

Ok, so it looks like I lost this battle.  Pancakes ARE the healthier option.  And just to prove I’m not a sore loser, I’ve got a tip for you pancake lovers.  If you find yourself breakfasting at Ihop, steer clear of the healthier sounding Harvest Grain N’ Nut pancakes.  One of those fellows packs 180 calories and 9 grams of fat.  Eat three and you might as well have ordered the waffle.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

