Take the money and run

Over the last few years, I’ve entered in a handful of races.  They’ve all been competitions I’ve wanted to participate in, but I’ve noticed something of late.  They’re getting expensive!

 Take, for example, the Disney Princess Half Marathon which is scheduled to happen in February at Disney World.  If you were to sign up for the race today, it’d set you back $140.  $140! 

Want to run in the prestigious New York City Marathon?  If  you can snag a spot, you’ll have to cough up $185 dollars to run 26.2 grueling miles.

And over the past three years, I’ve paid upwards of $500 to compete in three triathlons.

Now, I understand it costs a lot to put on races of such magnitudes, but come on.  I shouldn’t have to break the bank to run in a handful of races every year.  If the logic is that without all that money I wouldn’t be able to get a free T-shirt, a banana and maybe a medal at the finish…then I say keep the trinkets.  (Although I guess you could argue I’ve saved a lot of money by not having to buy PJs, since I have all those T-shirts).  But seriously, just let me compete!  I’ll even pay for the banana and bagel.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Take the money and run”

  1. roxygeyer Says:

    the races ARE getting more expensive…but, I wouldn’t want to give up the t-shirt, medal, goodie bag, digital tracking tag and those other things that make the race really special.

    I think that the cost just makes me lower the number of big races I actually do and the big expensive ones are that much more special because I don’t do many of them.

Leave a Reply

