So that’s why it’s so hard!

I was recently looking at photos of myself from my latest race and instead of marvelling at my achievement (finishing my first half marathon) I was shocked at how flabby my arms, raised over my head in victory, looked.  Now, I’m not a frequent passenger on the body snark train, but those fleshy arms really bugged me.  Granted, I didn’t do a lot (read: any) weight training while training for that race, but my guess is that’s only partly the reason why.  And I think I’ve hit upon the other part.

When you think about where a woman stores her excess fat, what body parts are the first to pop into your head?  Hips and thighs?  Well, you’re right.  But did you also know your triceps are also one of those fat storing areas? Seriously.  Blame the hormones.  More specifically that female hormone estrogen.  Every woman has high levels of it which means our bodies are going to store the fat in those problem areas.  But there is something we (and by we, I mean I) can do about it.

First…excess fat is excess fat, which means losing some weight will help achieve those slimmer arms.  And if you’ve read this blog long enough you know that the way to do that is through watching what you eat, cardio exercise and toning exercises. (For what kind of exercises you could do check out this past post.)

Now my goal isn’t to achieve Madonna arms (those are actually really scary), but something that doesn’t resemble a side of beef would be nice.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

