Acid Reflux (but not the kind you’re thinking)

I have a confession to make.  I haven’t been to the gym in ages.  That is until last Friday when I took a cardio/weight class that kicked my butt.  Not that I realized it at the time.  But boy did I feel it on Sunday.  The pain made even the simple act of stepping on the scale hurt.  And what I saw when I got on the scale hurt even more…I had gained two pounds! 

Impossible, I thought. I mean I had kept to my diet all week and even exercised a couple of times including that Friday class.  But I got to wondering if that Friday class and the lactic acid it had created was the problem.  Could  it possibly be causing me to weigh more?

A quick search of the weight loss/fitness forums finds I”m not the only one who suspects this.  There are some who say the weight gain is just a natural weight fluctuation.  Others say that muscles retain water after a hard workout so that they can rebuild, which leads to the weight gain.  Try as I might, I can’t find a solid answer to this nagging question.

So tell me, have you noticed this same annoying phenomenon?  Or maybe you can finally answer my question — does a build up of lactic acid cause temporary weight gain?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

