Writing that takes the gold

As someone who writes for a living (both here and at my job) I have a great appreciation for the clever use of words.  While browsing the New York Times yesterday, I came across one of the best metaphors I’ve ever read and because it’s exercise related, I thought I’d share it with you.

The sentence is from an article about the failure of the 2012 Olympic organizers in London to follow through on their promise to get more people involved in sports and exercise.  They had a goal to get two million people to be more active by 2012, but at the current rate, they won’t reach that number until 2023-24.  (A little behind pace, no?)

Anyway, here’s how the reporter describes the failure:

“…with the Games in less than 18 months, that commitment now resembles a wheezing jogger, bent over and winded from a New Year’s resolution whose ambition could not be matched by exertion.”

Not only do I know exactly what that looks like, I know exactly what that feels like.

Here’s the link to the rest of the article.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

