Running Outdoors for Dummies

Image Credit: KENNETH LAMBERT

If you’re like me, then you like to plan out your runs before you start them.  I hate just running with no set course.  I need to know where I’m going and how many miles I’ll log while doing it.

Lucky for me, there is no shortage of websites that offer to map my run for me.

If you’re always running the same courses, these maps aren’t all that useful, but they’re great if you find yourself in a new place (a relative’s house, on vacation) and want to keep up your running routine.

I’ve tried the popular and appropriately named mapmyrun.com, but the amount of clutter on the site makes my head reel.  I prefer the more streamlined look and fewer pop-up ads of  runningmap.com.  Like Map My Run, Running Map uses the Google Map interface to allow to plot your course.  Just click along the route you’d like to take and it adds up the mileage for you.  There’s no need to sign up for an account, but if you do, the site will save your routes for you for easy access.

Now wasn’t that easy?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

